Where is the line for eastern time zone?

Length and east of the border line described in Sec. Five states are located in the central and eastern time zones. These are Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan and Tennessee. See the boundary line between the central and eastern time zones.

The United States uses nine standard time zones. From east to west, they are Atlantic Standard Time (AST), Eastern Standard Time (EST), Central Standard Time (CST), Mountain Standard Time (MST), Pacific Standard Time (PST), Alaska Standard Time (AKST), Hawaii Standard Time and Aleutian Standard Time (HST), Samoa Standard Time (UTC-1) and Standard Time Chamorro ( UTC+). In everyday use, EST is often referred to as Eastern Time (ET) or Eastern Time Zone. This can add a bit of confusion, since the term Eastern Time doesn't differentiate between standard time and daylight saving time, so Eastern Time changes between EST and EDT in areas that use daylight saving time for part of the year.

The Eastern Time Zone (ET) is a time zone that encompasses part or all of the 23 states in the eastern part of the United States, parts of eastern Canada, the state of Quintana Roo in Mexico, Panama, Colombia, continental Ecuador, Peru and a small part of the western tip of Brazil in South America, along with certain Islands of the Caribbean and the Atlantic. The Eastern Time Zone is also known as EST for Eastern Standard Time and EDT for Eastern Summer Time. During the EST you have a compensation of -5 hours. During daylight saving time or daylight saving time, the Eastern Time Zone has a 4-hour difference for UTC-GMT.

Eastern time zone states include Main, Vermont, New York, New Jersey, and Ohio. Some states, such as Alabama, belong to the eastern and central time zones. The five states that partially observe the central and eastern time zones are Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan and Tennessee. The Bahamas and Haiti officially observe both Eastern Standard Time during the winter months and Eastern Summer Time during the summer months.

The boundary between time zones is set out in the Code of Federal Regulations, and the boundary between the eastern and central time zones is specifically detailed at 49 C. Most of the state of Indiana observes Eastern Time, except for the northwest and southwest corners that observe Central Time. Most of Michigan observes Eastern Time, but Central Time is observed in counties that have a border with Wisconsin. Of these nine time zones, Central Standard Time and Eastern Standard Time together cover 37 states and the District of Colombia.

The boundaries of the eastern time zone have shifted to the west since the Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC) took over the management of railroad time zones in 1938. It is in these states that the change from the central time zone to the eastern time zone or vice versa occurs. In South America, the Brazilian states of Acre and the southwestern part of the Amazon use Eastern Standard Time. Most North American time zones also have generic terms, such as Pacific Time (PT), Mountain Time (MT), Central Time (CT) and Atlantic Time (AT). In addition, Phenix City, Alabama, and several nearby communities in Russell County, Alabama, are unofficially observing Eastern Time.

Eastern Standard Time (EST) is a standard time zone used from the first Sunday in November to the second Sunday in March, when daylight saving time (DST) is not in effect. In Canada, daylight saving time starts and ends on the same days and at the same time as in the United States.

Gary Kattan
Gary Kattan

Professional thinker. General beer guru. Total web advocate. General coffee practitioner. General foodaholic. Professional web maven.

Leave Reply

Required fields are marked *