What counties in indiana observe daylight savings time?

The eastern half of the state (Campbellsville, Lexington, Louisville, and more) is in Eastern Time. Along with Evansville, Henderson residents will set back their clocks by one hour to begin observing the CST until March. Counties in western Kentucky will remain one hour behind their neighbors to the east. Farmers in rural Indiana oppose daylight saving time because their days follow sunrise and sunset rather than in the northwest, those counties are Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Newton, Porter and Starke, and in the southwest, Gibson, Perry, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh and Warrick.

Most of the state uses Eastern Time, using Eastern Standard Time (EST) during the winter months and Eastern Summer Time (EDT) in the summer months, when daylight saving time is in effect. Mitch Daniels added daylight saving time to his economic bill, arguing that a more consistent schedule in Indiana would be better for business. Modern daylight saving time, or DST, was first officially used in Germany during the First World War in an effort to reduce energy use. All of Indiana moves the clocks forward 1 hour to daylight saving time in spring and then slows them back in the fall.

Gary Kattan
Gary Kattan

Professional thinker. General beer guru. Total web advocate. General coffee practitioner. General foodaholic. Professional web maven.

Leave Reply

Required fields are marked *